Archive | December, 2009

ZA001-inflight-tail.jpg

Photo of Note: ZA001 as seen from T-33 chase planes

Photo Credit Boeing

Continue Reading

Video: 787 takes to the sky!

Continue Reading
Picture 7.png

FlightBlogger Live: First Flight of the Boeing 787 Dreamliner

Well, today’s the day. At least we hope mother nature will allow it to be. I’ll be streaming live here periodically throughout the day, but look for my up-to-the-second updates on twitter. First flight is set for 10 AM PT (1 PM ET, 1800 GMT) from Paine Field. It’s going to be an exciting day […]

Continue Reading

787 Pre-Flight Weather Briefing

Good Morning from Everett! A brief word about the weather here this morning north of Seattle. Minimums for 787 to takeoff include 5000 foot ceilings and 5 SM visibility. Right now (8 AM) the Terminal Area Forecast shows broken clouds at 2200 feet and overcast at 3500 from 7 AM PT through to 11 AM. […]

Continue Reading

Better Know a Dreamliner – Part One – ZA001

ZA001 – Registration: N787BA – Serial No: 40690 – Final Assembly: 5/16/07 At 10 AM on December 15, 2009, chief pilot Mike Carriker, joined by engineering pilot Randy Neville, will push the throttle levels on the first 787 full forward and rocket down Runway 32L at Paine Field in Everett, Washington, marking the commencement of […]

Continue Reading

Video: ZA002 landing gear swings

On the evening of December 14, ZA002 was towed from the fuel dock to the flight line where it was jacked up off of its landing gear for swing tests. Liz Matzelle captured the tests as they were happening last night. ZA002 is currently slated to take flight around December 22nd following a battery of […]

Continue Reading
ZA001-Rotation_560.jpg

ZA001 stretches its legs

Boeing officially sets December 15 at 10 AM PT (1800 GMT) for first flight. 787 granted experimental airworthiness certificate by the FAA High-Speed taxi tests are complete Boeing’s busy day on the ground kicked off at 6:30 AM with a flight readiness review that finalized receipt of the Experimental Airworthiness Certificate from the FAA. This regulatory clearance […]

Continue Reading

138 Photos and 2 Videos of Note: 787′s busy day on the ground

Videos Courtesy of Liz Matzelle

Continue Reading

FlightBlogger Live: 787 Taxi Testing

Greetings from Everett! Taxi tests for the 787 are on the agenda for this morning and I’m gong to be trying things a bit differently. UStream recently became available for the iPhone and this seems like a perfect opportunity to test it out. The broadcast above won’t be streaming the entire time, but it will […]

Continue Reading

Photo of Note: Everett Pre-Dawn – December 12, 2009

Continue Reading