FAA, Netherlands to promote air safety in Dutch Caribbean

Washington DC
This story is sourced from Pro
See more Pro news »

The US Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and the Kingdom of the Netherlands today signed an agreement to promote a safe aviation environment in the Dutch Caribbean region.

The region includes Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba, Sint Maarten and St. Eustatius.

The agreement will promote cooperation between the two nations to include coordination of traffic flows between US-controlled airspace and the airspace controlled by Sint Maarten and the Caribbean part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, says the FAA.

It also provides for the FAA to work directly with the authorities in the Caribbean parts of the Kingdom to facilitate the installation and maintenance of FAA air navigation equipment and facilities as needed, to provide technical assistance, and for the exchange of information on the regulation and oversight of aviation safety.

Sint Maarten and Curaçao were downgraded by the FAA in January 2012 to Category 2, after the agency found that the two islands did not comply with ICAO safety standards.