India proposes to build 17 new airports

This story is sourced from Pro
See more Pro news »

India's Ministry of Civil Aviation has proposed to build 17 new airports in 11 states across the country.

According to the plan, Karnataka, a state in south-west India, alone will get four new airports. Meanwhile, Maharashtra will have three new airports and the state of Kerala will get two new airports.

The states of Madhya Pradesh, Pudducherry, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, Jharkhand and Goa will each have one new airport.

These new airports, which are expected to cope with growing congestion and improve air connectivity in some states, were proposed for construction during the country's 12th five-year plan period.