Southwest to convert final three AirTran-only cities

Washington DC
This story is sourced from Pro
See more Pro news »

Southwest Airlines will convert the last three cities served only by its subsidiary AirTran Airways to Southwest operations from 3 November, and end service on some routes as a result.

The three cities that will transition to Southwest flights are Richmond in Virginia, Pensacola in Florida and Memphis in Tennessee, Southwest closed on its acquisition of AirTran in May 2011 and has gradually been converting AirTran's destinations to Southwest operations.

At Memphis, Southwest will operate six daily weekday departures to Chicago Midway, Houston Hobby, Tampa, Orlando and Baltimore-Washington.

The carrier will serve Pensacola with three daily weekday flights to Nashville in Tennessee and Houston. Richmond will have one daily weekday departure to Orlando.

Southwest will end AirTran's flights between Atlanta and Pensacola and between Atlanta and Memphis, but will assume AirTran's flights between Atlanta and San Juan in Puerto Rico.

Southwest will also launch new non-stop routes beyond the three cities that will convert from AirTran operations. It will begin non-stop flights between Austin, Texas and New Orleans, as well as between Atlanta and Hartford and between Atlanta and Oklahoma City. AirTran will operate thrice weekly on the Hartford route and twice weekly on the Oklahoma City flights. Southwest will operate the once weekly New Orleans flight.

Southwest will end Atlanta flights to Buffalo in New York, and Denver flights to Manchester in New Hampshire and Providence in Rhode Island.

The carrier will also nix flights between Akron-Canton in Ohio and Chicago-Midway, and seasonal Las Vegas flights to Hartford and Jacksonville, Florida.