Star details Heathrow move timetable

This story is sourced from Pro
See more Pro news »

Star Alliance carriers Air New Zealand and United Airlines will both locate to an overhauled Terminal 1 at London Heathrow as of 10 June under the first stage of the alliance’s long-term move to operate in the same terminal by 2012.

Moves at Heathrow begin in earnest this month with the opening of its new Terminal 5, from which Oneworld carrier British Airways will operate, and further redevelopment work at the London airport which culminates in the opening of the new Heathrow East terminal in 2012.

Work is already under way to redesign the check-in area at Terminal 1 to enable Air New Zealand and United Airlines to relocate from Terminal 3 to the Terminal 1 on 10 June where they will join Star members Asiana Airlines, BMI, LOT Polish Airlines and South African Airways and soon to start Heathrow services, US Airways.

Under a second phase of the move coinciding with the closure of Terminal 2 – on which the new Heathrow East terminal will be built - Austrian, Croatia Airlines, Lufthansa, Swiss and TAP Portugal will move to Terminal 1 by November of this year.

The remaining Star Alliance carriers – Air Canada, Air China, ANA, Scandinavian Airlines, Singapore Airlines, Thai Airways and Turkish Airlines will continue to operate out of Terminal 3 until 2012, when it is projected all the carriers will operate in the same terminal.

Star Alliance CEO Jaan Albrecht says: “Of all our ‘move under one roof’ projects, Heathrow is admittedly the most challenging. In an ideal world we would already like to offer our customers a new state of the art facility today. But needing to make use of the existing infrastructure, we will only be able to achieve this through a phased approach together with the BAA and our member carriers.

“With annual passenger numbers at Terminal 1 projected to fall from the present 23 million to 15 million in 2009, the overall facility will be far less crowded than in the past.”