The AUVSI Foundation has recognized six individuals and one chapter for their extraordinary contributions to the unmanned systems community.

The Outstanding Contributor Award went to Col. Karl Rozelsky and Capt. Bob Dishman for pushing to have future Global Hawk and BAMS vehicles share common assemblies and features.

Jonathon Fiene won the Academic Champion Award for fostering University of Pennsylvania student interest in unmanned systems.

The Operations Award went to Andrew Thurling, the chief test pilot for the development of AeroVironment's revolutionary Global Observer aircraft.

Joseph Lusczek, the technical director of aerospace systems design and analysis at the Air Force Aeronautical Systems Center at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio, is being presented the Pioneer Award for his work in modernizing Air Force aeronautical systems.

The Member of the Year Award went to Mark Patterson, director of the Autonomous Systems Laboratory at the Virginia Institute of Marine Science. Patterson dedicated the award to Capt. Frank Roberts of the Hampton Roads Chapter, who died of cancer earlier this year.

A new award this year was the Chapter of the Year Award, presented to the Pathfinder Chapter of Huntsville, Ala., AUVSI's largest chapter.

Source: Flight Daily News