European air safety authorities have banned all Indonesian carriers, as well as Angolan flag-carrier TAAG, from operating to the European Union as part of a revision to the air transport blacklist.


Garuda 445px 
© Airbus   
Indonesia's flag carrier Garuda will be affected

The updated list also bans Ukrainian carrier Volare Aviation Enterprise while restrictions imposed on Pakistan International Airlines are to be modified. In the last update European regulators banned all PIA aircraft except its Boeing 777s.

While full details have yet to be disclosed, the European Commission says that the blacklist revision follows a unanimous opinion from its Air Safety Committee.

It adds that 10 carriers from Russia, six from Bulgaria and eight from Moldova will halt operations to the European Union as part of measures taken by the national authorities of those states.

These restrictions are part of the fourth update to the European Commission’s blacklist since the scheme was initiated last year.

Related story

Related article