Australia and India have liberalised their air services agreement, allowing airlines to operate unlimited services between the two countries.

The unlimited services will be between the six largest cities in India and Australia, which were previously limited to only 6,500 seats per week to and from Mumbai, New Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai, Hyderabad and Bengaluru.

The previous agreement between the two countries signed in 2013 already opened up unlimited codeshare rights, including via intermediate hubs, and unrestricted cargo rights.

FlightGlobal schedules show that Air India is the only carrier to fly between India and Australia, operating five weekly Delhi-Sydney flights and thrice-weekly Delhi-Melbourne services.

Qantas serves India via a codeshare on Jet Airways’ services from Singapore, Bangkok and Hong Kong. Virgin Australia, meanwhile, codeshares on SilkAir and Singapore Airlines’ services from Singapore to India.

Source: Cirium Dashboard