Two European astronauts have been given key positions in the European Space Agency's (ESA) European Astronaut Centre. Ernst Messerschmid, who flew as a German payload specialist on the Spacelab D1/Space Shuttle mission 61A in October 1985, becomes chief of the centre, while French astronaut Jean-Pierre Haignere becomes chief of ESA's Astronaut Division. Haignere is a veteran of two stints aboard the Mir space station.

Source: Flight International