China Southern and Qantas has firmed up the launch date of their codesharing cooperation, which takes place on 1 May.

The launch comes after the two carriers signed a codesharing agreement in December 2013, says the Australian carrier.

Qantas will now be able to place its code on China Southern-operated services from Guangzhou to Fuzhou, Kunming, Urumqi, Xiamen, Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney.

China Southern will also place its code on Qantas-operated services from Sydney to Auckland, Adelaide, Brisbane, Cairns, Canberra, Gold Coast and Melbourne, Cairns to Brisbane, and from Melbourne to Adelaide and Brisbane, adds Qantas.

FlightMaps Analytics shows that China Southern flies from Guangzhou to Brisbane, Melbourne, Sydney and Perth, while Qantas flies on the Sydney-Shanghai route.

Source: Cirium Dashboard