The finalists have been selected for this year's Flight International Aerospace Industry Awards. The winners, chosen by a panel of aerospace industry experts, will be announced at this year's presentation and gala dinner at the Ritz-Carlton Singapore Hotel on 23 February during the Asian Aerospace show.

Finalists in the air transport category are Airservices Australia, Boeing, DHL Aviation Africa and Eurocontrol. Competing for the top prize in the avionics and aircraft systems category are Meggitt Safety Systems, Rockwell Collins and UPS Aviation Technologies, while Gulfstream Aerospace, Galaxy Aerospace/Israel Aircraft Industries and Raytheon Aircraft are finalists in the corporate and general aviation category.

BAE Systems, CFM International and Spectrum Astro will compete for first prize in the corporate strategy section. The engineering award will go to CTT Systems, Lockheed Martin Aeronautical Systems or Lord Corp. Lockheed Martin Aeronautical Systems also features in the military aviation category, with Boeing and Embraer. Meanwhile, Lockheed Martin Tactical Aircraft is up for the propulsion award, with Hurel-Dubois and Boeing, Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control and Starsem are competing in the space and missiles category.

Contenders for the training award are two entries from BAE Systems and one from the Oxford Aviation College, while the safety shortlist comprises Airbus Industrie, British Airways and the Flight Safety Foundation.

The 2000 Personality of the Year - the executive who the judges consider has made a major contribution to aerospace - will also be named at the awards ceremony.

Source: Flight International