Malaysia and Singapore have further liberalised their air services agreement by adding new destinations and increasing frequencies on existing routes.

Singapore's ministry of transport says the two sides have finalised a new air services agreement that includes six new routes.

These are between Singapore and: Alor Setar, Bintulu, Labuan, Kerteh, Kota Bahru and Sibu, it says.

"Singaporean and Malaysian carriers will each have traffic rights to operate 28 weekly passenger services to each of these destinations."

"Under the new agreement, Singaporean carriers will also have expanded traffic rights to operate to 42 weekly passenger services each to Ipoh, Kota Kinabalu, Kuching and Langkawi as well as 28 weekly passenger services each to Kuantan, Kuala Terrengganu, Malacca, Miri, Sandakan and Tawau."

"The same entitlements are accorded to Malaysian carriers," it adds.

Previously Singapore and Malaysia were only allowed 14 weekly services each to Kuantan, Kuala Terengganu, Malacca, Miri, Sandakan and Tawau.

This is the second time this year Malaysia and Singapore have liberalised air services, says the ministry.

Source: Air Transport Intelligence news