Airline Business, sister publication to Flight International and, celebrated its sixth airline strategy awards earlier this week (15 July), recognising the industry's leading executives and top management teams. 

Norman Mineta, former US Transportation Secretary won the Airline Business Award. On receiving his award he said: "Thank you for this great honour. I feel especially honoured to follow Dr Assad Kotaite, the head of ICAO [who won the Airline Business Award last year].

“On behalf of the 62,000 employees at the US Department of Transportation I would like to say thank you."

AB awards 3 
 Airline Business Award presented to Norman Mineta, former US Transportation Secretary  
For the Executive Leadership Award, judges selected the "visionary and ambitious strategy" of Air France and KLM and their leaders Jean-Cyril Spinetta and Leo van Wijk. The two airlines merged in 2003, creating the world’s largest airline group.

Although still relatively young, the merger has been skilfully handled by Spinetta and van Wijk, balancing political and labour sensitivities while also generating cost and operational synergies and boosting group profits.

“They have done an exceptional job in making the merger happen,” said one of the Airline Strategy Award judges.

AB awards 1 
 Left to right: Paul Coby, chairman, SITA and British Airways CIO, Leo van Wijk, CEO KLM and editor Airline Business, Mark Pilling 
In the Regional and Low Cost Leadership category, US low-fare carrier AirTran Airways and its chief executive Joe Leonard were recognised for an innovative strategy that has produced consistent profits in an extremely tight market.

 AB awards 2
 Left: Oliver Houni, Unisys. Right: John Kirby, director strategic planning and scheduling - collecting the award on behalf of Joe Leonard, Air Tran CEO
“The 2007 Airline Strategy Awards once again demonstrate the extremely high quality of leadership among our leading carriers. It is an industry that is performing remarkably well in a climate that never seems to get any easier and one that constantly requires outstanding leaders,” said Mark Pilling, editor of Airline Business.

Operations Awards award 

AB awards 4 
 Left to right: Erich Franken, head of global client group, American Express, Gerry Turner, group general manager operations, Jetstar and Mark Pilling, editor, Airline Business

Finance award

AB awards 5 
 Kimell Garland, CFO and treasurer UATP presents the finance award to James Barrington, director sales and marketing, Cathay Pacific Airways

Marketing award

AB awards 7 
 Robert Coggin, vice chairman, Galileo presents the technology award to Yap Kim Wah, senior vice president products and services, Singapore Airlines
Technology award

AB awards 6 
 Samer Majali, Royal Jordanian CEO accepts the Airline Strategy Award for technology

Related blog

Editor's introduction