Four Russian carriers are set to be banned from operating to the European Union from next week, while five other carriers will face restrictions on their operations.

Russia’s federal transport authority Rostransnadzor and air transport agency Rosaviatsiya have proposed banning Kavminvodyavia (KMV), Yakutia Airlines, Kuban Airlines and Airlines 400.

The action follows advisories from the European Commission to Russian authorities concerning the carriers’ non-compliance with European Union air safety requirements; the nature of these has not been disclosed.

If the ban goes ahead it will come into effect on 25 June, preventing the carriers from operating scheduled, charter and ad hoc services to European Union member states.

But the decision also places operational restrictions on KrasAir, Ural Airlines, Atlant-Soyuz, UTAir and industrial transport specialist Gazpromavia. These restrictions centre on aircraft types used for flights into Europe.

In a statement the Russian transport ministry says: “Regarding these airlines it is proposed that a plan of measures be developed and urgently submitted to Rostransnadzor to eliminate the deficiencies revealed and prevent their repetition.”

Previous European Commission warnings over the safety compliance of Russian operators have similarly resulted in federal action against the carriers involved, in order to keep them off the European Union’s airline ‘blacklist’.

Related article

Related blog