Emirates Airline's president Tim Clark, BEA AF447 investigation team, Sikorsky's X2 pilot Kevin Bredenbeck and airline pioneer Burt Rutan have been named Leader, Innovator, Aviator and Lifetime award winner in the third annual Flightglobal Achievement Awards.

Flightglobal winners

Honoured in front of VIPs at an awards ceremony held at Dubai's prestigious Al Badia Golf Club, the awards celebrated aviation excellence. The winners of Leader, Innovator and Aviator were selected and voted for by the users of flightglobal.com and generated more than 4,000 votes.

Tim Clark

The fourth - for Lifetime Achievement - was a special award from the publisher of Flight International and the Flightglobal family of products,  was awarded to aviation pioneer Burt Rutan, who also spoke at the event about his long and distinguished career.

Also announced at the star-studded event was the winner of the sixth Boeing Engineering Student of the Year Award, which was chosen by a distinguished panel of current and former senior engineers at Boeing.

The winner was Noël Bakhtian, who is closing in on a PhD focused on supersonic retro propulsion, which may be the key to resolving entry problems posed by the Red Planet.


The event was sponsored by Boeing, Bombardier, AJW Aviation and Ascend, and hosted by Flight International editor Murdo Morrison.

More details on each of the winners and information on all the runners up can be found at flightglobal.com/awards11.

For all the latest news and views from the Dubai air show, visit our dedicated show page.

Source: FlightGlobal.com