Star Alliance carriers Air New Zealand (ANZ) and South African Airways will start code-sharing on 1 November.

On that day, ANZ will start placing its code on South African Airways' flights on the Perth-Johannesburg route as well as on the connecting domestic services to Cape Town, Durban, Port Elizabeth and East London.

South African Airways, meanwhile, will place its code on ANZ's Perth-Auckland service and its flights from Auckland to Wellington and Christchurch.

It also says South African Airways will place its code on some of ANZ's trans-Tasman services from Sydney to Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

South African Airways operates a daily service on the Johannesburg-Perth route using Airbus A340s. ANZ operates a five-times-weekly service on the Auckland-Perth route using Boeing 767s, according to Innovata.

ANZ says there are 41,000 South Africans living in New Zealand. For the first six months of this year, New Zealand had 23,000 short-term arrivals from South Africa.

As both carriers are members of Star Alliance, their passengers can earn and redeem miles on each other's flights, it adds.

Source: Air Transport Intelligence news